How do I maintain my certification?

CAPP or CAPA Certificants may retain their designation throughout their careers by adhering to The Institute of Financial Operations recertification requirements. At the end of the initial certification cycle, and each subsequent two year cycle, recertification is possible for those certificants who have completed the following:

  • Agree to abide by the Code of Ethics
  • Agree to abide by the Code of Ethics
  • Paid applicable recertification fees
  • Paid applicable recertification fees

*CAPA certificants who attain more than 25 credits and CAPP certificants who attain more than 40 credits in a two year cycle cannot use the additional credits earned for a subsequent two year term.

  1. Certificants are required to maintain their knowledge and skills in accounts payable practices through a self-certification process that includes the completion and reporting of required continuing education credits on a bi-annual basis. Submitted forms serve as signed statements that all applicable continuing education requirements have been met.
  2. The initial recertification will be due the first June 30th following two years after originally passing the exam. Subsequent recertification will be due every two years on June 30th of the reporting year.
  3. Certificants may also retake the certification exams in order to attain recertification. Full exam fees will apply in lieu of any applicable recertification fees.
  4. Refer to the candidate handbooks for additional information about recertification.


Continuing Professional Education Credit Tracking Template